About Wirksworth Town Council


The Wirksworth Town Council was established in 1972 to provide the town with a “local” authority upon the introduction of the West Derbyshire District Council in 1974 (later renamed the Derbyshire Dales District Council). The West Derbyshire District Council encompassed the former Urban and Rural District Councils at Ashbourne, Bakewell, Matlock and Wirksworth, and provided a centralised district authority based at Matlock. The Town Council was granted powers to deal with parish issues, and were appointed consultees on both parish and district matters.

THE TOWN HALL - WIRKSWORTH

Built by the Freemasons in 1871, the Town Hall was designed by the architect A B Bradby. In common with most Victorian buildings, styles were "borrowed" from previous periods in history. The Main Hall leans heavily towards the Jacobean period and has been decorated to emphasise the beamed ceiling. The Italianate facade conceals a number of offices and is also the home of the public library and a charity shop.

THE MEMORIAL HALL - WIRKSWORTH

Built in the 1930's, the Memorial Hall has had a chequered career. Attached to the old cinema, it started life as a "country club", went on to become a transport cafe.  The downstairs kitchen and hall is now hired out to the community, the upstairs has tenanted office space.

TOWN COUNCILLORS 2017-18

        Register of Disclosable Pecunary Interests
Frances  Brown   01629 822550   f.brown@wirksworth.gov.uk 21/11/16 
Alison Clamp 01629 823870

a.clamp@wirksworth.gov.uk

13/07/15

Mike 

Edwards 01629 822198 m.edwards@wirksworth.gov.uk

18/05/15 

Izzy

Fisher 07757 438184 i.fisher@wirksworth.gov.uk 06/06/16

Gladwyn 

Gratton  01629 822742 g.gratton@wirksworth.gov.uk 13/07/15 
Steve Maskrey 07786 073735

s.maskrey@wirksworth.gov.uk

02/06/15 
Andy Jordan 01629 824396 a.jordan@wirksworth.gov.uk 09/07/15
Andy Pollock 01629 823752 a.pollock@wirksworth.gov.uk 18/05/15 
Josh Stockell 07989 627307 j.stockell@wirksworth.gov.uk 18/05/15 
Pam Taylor 01629 824457 p.taylor@wirksworth.gov.uk 13/07/15 
Chris Whittall 01629 822648 c.whittall@wirksworth.gov.uk 18/05/15 

 Representation on Outside Bodies

Stoney Wood

Stoney Wood is Wirksworth's Millennium woodland planted in the area recovered from Stonecroft Quarry. The land on which the wood is planted was donated by Tarmac Ltd to Wirksworth Town Council. The original planting was started by Tarmac but later sections were planted by local adults and children in a project ...

Read More »

Hiring the Hall

Main Hall

The Main Hall is large, suitable for a variety of uses - dance, exercise, large meeting space, wedding reception, family parties, musical events, etc, whilst other rooms - the Club Room, Ante Room, Council Chamber, are suited to smaller classes/groups. All rooms are available for hire during the day and evening, weekdays and weekends.

Read More »

Council Meetings

Environment & Town Affairs
(Usually held on the first Monday of the month)
Finance, Buildings & Personnel
(Usually held on the second Monday of the month)
Town Council Meeting
(Usually held on the third Monday of the month)

Read More »